Another Year has Slipped Away….

Sorry it has been so long since I last wrote, but I find it hard to write when I am back at home, mucking around in the garden and training… It always feels as though nothing of note has been happening. In saying that, the last 5 weeks have been almost the opposite of that. I feel as though I have not had time to think since we have arrived back in NZ. Within two hours of being in the country we were back climbing at our local outdoor training venue (the “Super Bowl” aka “The Cave”). I was feeling sleep deprived and groggy from traveling half way around the world, but I could not even stay off my old nemesis for one day. I was frustratingly close to climbing Space Boy (32/8b+) before heading away in April, and the route has been lurking in the back of my mind throughout this entire year. I was both scared and excited to see how the moves would feel after seven months away, climbing on very different terrain. To my surprise the moves actually felt easier than before and soon I was feeling better than before, even though our time at home has been very disrupted – no send yet!

One week after arriving back in NZ I found myself back on a plane, heading up to the North Island to give a slideshow in Wellington. I used this as an opportunity to visit the Hawkes Bay, where I went to school, and visit three of the most important influences during that period of my life; my Dad, my best friend form school and my old horse Zerrak. It was a beautiful trip down memory lane and left me with a newfound appreciation for where (and how) I grew up.

Reacquainting myself with "Zerrak" my dearest friend

Somehow the years seem to keep flying past with an ever increasing tempo… I find it scary to think how fast they will pass in 10 or 20 years, if their speed keeps increasing at this rate. On the upside though, for me the years also seem to keep improving… 2009 was definitely one of the best years of my life so far and if my plans for 2010 work out then it has the potential to be even better.

At the moment I am just looking forward to the whole festive season being over. We have been rushing up and down the country trying to be in far too many places at once. I am hoping that soon things will quieten down a little, so that I can focus properly on training and organizing the coming year.

Tout le meilleur pendant la nouvelle année!

~ by mayangoabt on January 1, 2010.